ARMS supports the professional development of its members by: 

  • RMIT Paul Taylor Award for Excellence in Research Management Practice - closed

  • Travel Awards, Travel Scholarships that provide financial support - Not Available In 2021 Due To The Pandemic 

  • Scholarships to participate in the biennual INORMS conference - Closed 

  • INORMS Awards for Excellence in Research Management Leadership - Closed 

  • Janet Dibb-Leigh Award (JDL) for distinguished service in research management -Closed

  • Fellows of ARMS - Closed  

ARMS congratulates all current and past award recipients.

Click here for a full list of current and past award recipients. 

2021 RMIT Paul Taylor Awards for Excellence in Research Management Practice

Nominations now closed


Through the generous contribution of RMIT University, ARMS is pleased to announce the 2021 RMIT Paul Taylor Awards for Excellence in Research Management Practice

These awards honour the life of Dr Paul Taylor, an exemplary, well regarded and inspiring Research Management Professional who sadly passed away suddenly in November 2018. Dr Taylor was highly regarded internationally for his thoughtful and determined leadership on the responsible conduct of research.


Our 2021 awards offer two categories:

Category 1 (Research Management Excellence) – Two awards of up to AUD$500 each may be granted in recognition of excellence in practice through: innovation in research management, leading change, providing quality service; and working smarter.

Category 2 (Paul Taylor Medal) – One award of up to AUD$1000 may be granted under this category in recognition of excellence in research integrity through: education and training, innovation in research integrity; leading change; research and understanding; and working smarter.

Award recipients will be announced at the ARMS Award Ceremony, aligned with the Virtual conference “Disrupting the Status Quo: Challenging the Research and Innovation Culture, on Thursday the 4th of November 2021.


To nominate an individual or a team, download and complete the nomination form and submit to Nominations are now closed, late nominations will not be accepted. 

Please Note that the Guidelines and Nomination forms have been updated to align with the extended dates.
Guidelines available here.

Nomination form available here.

Janet Dibb-Leigh Award for Distinguished Service to Research Management 2021

Nominations now closed 

Nominations must be received by 5 PM AEST, 20 August 2021 to ARMS Administration Officer, email nominations will not be accepted.


The Janet Dibb-Leigh Award for Distinguished Service to Research Management recognises individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the enhancement of the research management sector throughout Australasia and Singapore.  Nominations are called for annually, however this award is only offered to an individual whose contributions to the profession of research management are deemed exceptional.

If the Assessment Panel identifies a deserving candidate in this round, a trophy shall be presented to the recipient at a Virtual Event of ARMS to be held 3-5 November 2021.


Ms Janet Dibb-Leigh is the Founding President of ARMS.   This award has been established to recognise her contributions towards the establishment of ARMS and more broadly to the research management profession globally. 

Janet Dibb-Leigh has over 20 years’ experience as a senior research manager and strategist, in three universities.   Janet was the Founding President of the Australasian Research Management Society and co-chair, International Network of Research Management Societies; Distinguished Faculty, Society of Research Administrators International; International Editorial Board, Research Global.

Ms Dibb-Leigh has provided significant contributions to ARMS, especially during its formative years.   Some of the key achievements she was involved in include: 

  • International profiling of the ARMS annual conference, attracting a large delegation from the UK, US, Denmark, US, Korea, South Africa, Canada in addition to our NZ members;
  • Appointing of a professional secretariat service provider to manage the daily and expanding operations of the Society;
  • Consistent with its professional development objectives, establishing of a range of travel grant programs;
  • Establishing of closer links with ARMS’ sister societies; and
  • Establishing the International Network of Research Management Societies (INORMS), coordinating the first multi-national forum where INORMS was formalised and hosting the first INORMS Congress on behalf of the member societies.

The Janet Dibb-Leigh award will be announced at a Virtual Event to be held on the 4th of November 2021.

The awardee shall receive an official trophy and will be formally acknowledged on the ARMS website and the Report to Members. 


Nomination Guidelines download here

Fellow of ARMS nomination form download here

Fellows of ARMS - 2021 Call for Nominations

Nominations now closed

Nominations must be received by 5 pm AEST, 6 August 2021 to the ARMS Administration Officer, email  


Fellows of ARMS are recognised as individuals who have made an enduring and substantial contribution to research management as a practitioner, mentor, trainer or advocate in the research management profession.  

Fellows of ARMS will be entitled to carry the post-nominal “Fellow of ARMS” and are encouraged to participate actively in the work of the ARMS community to share best practice in the profession of research management well beyond their membership with ARMS. 

At time of submission, nominees must be a current financial member of ARMS and must be nominated by a current financial member of ARMS.

Read Here