The Australasian Ethics Network (AEN) provides a platform for those involved in human research ethics (researchers, ethics committee members and chairs, and administrators) to network, share their ideas, processes experiences and views.

Participation in the AEN is open to all ARMS members as well as to individuals who have an interest in human research ethics. Non-ARMS members are encouraged to seek access to the AEN through the endorsement of a member of the AEN. The functions of the AEN include:

  • To provide a forum for human research ethics issues and developments;
  • To provide opportunities for professional development, networking and peer support;
  • To encourage the development of appropriate ethical and professional standards;
  • To make recommendations for strategies that support the operation of human research ethics committees and programs;
  • To support the coordination of regional and international conferences relevant to the needs of its members;
  • To provide an avenue for the publication and distribution of relevant professional material including occasional papers; and
  • To participate in appropriate local and regional activities.

ARMS provides a legal structure to support the function of the AEN, therefore, the AEN operate as a stream of the ARMS Ethics & Research Integrity Special Interest Group (SIG).

Membership of the AEN Advisory Group

Chair:  Dr Karolyn White, Macquarie University

  • Dr Nitya Phillipson
  • Dr Jeremy Kenner
  • Dr Ted Rohr
  • Dr Anne Walsh
  • Ms Adele Kay
  • Dr David Hunter
  • Dr Leanne McRae
  • Dr Ian Pieper